Knights News · Fall Sports Review

Fall Sports Review


The 2017-2018 Fall season was an extremely successful one for the Knights, with several All-State and All-Conference recognitions following conference, regional, sectional and  state competition appearances-not to mention, history was made in several sports at Kaneland this year.


Kaneland tennis, coached by Tim Larsen, had one of its most successful seasons to date with both conference and sectional tournament titles, the sectional win being a first for the team. Kaneland was the only team in class 1A to have all four of its teams advance to the state tournament. Haley Plach and Ingrid Napiorkowksi played together on one of the doubles teams while Anna Carlson and Erin McMullen played on the other. The singles players who advanced to state were Madie Jurasek, the Daily Chronicle 2017 Girls Tennis POY, and Piper Schrepferman, both 2017 All-State players.

For the first time in school history, Kaneland soccer, headed by Scott Parillo, became Conference Champions during a successful season which included a 15-4-3 record, a 16 game win streak and seven All-Conference selections: Brian Bartholomew, Devin Pieczynski, Tucker Jahns,  Ulysses Herrera, Hunter Smith, and Gavin Cano. The Knights also had three All-Sectional players: John McCaffrey, Tucker Jahns, and Brian Bartholomew. Senior John McCaffrey was named the team’s Player of the Year.

After losing eight seniors from their previous season, Kaneland Golf, led by Mark Meyer, saw the fourth regional win in their history, a second place conference finish and two top 20 state competition performances. Junior Will Marshall placed fifth at state while freshman Ryan Milton placed seventeenth. The Knights will lose senior Rhett Espe next season, but hope to continue their success in the coming years.

Kaneland Boys Cross Country, coached by Chad Clarey, had an outstanding 2017 season which included placing sixth in the state competition and the team’s first individual win in state competition by senior Matt Richtman. Isaiah Dallal, Seth Nosek, Ethan Walker, Ethan Neal, Daniel Occhipinti, Blake Finn, Jacob Wielgos, Aidan Lodwig, Peyton Heiser, Sam Webster and Matt Richtman made up the twelve man postseason team this season. The Knights placed second in conference and second in a regional competition where Matt Richtman won the individual title. For the first time ever, Kaneland Cross Country qualified as a team for state on their home course by placing third in their sectional. To close their season, Matt Richtman won the state competition individual title with a time of 14:22 and garnered his third All-State honor along with a team top ten finish.

The Kaneland Girls Cross Country team, headed by Doug Ecker, had a successful season as well, placing third in conference with four All-Conference runners (Rachel Richtman, Grace Purcell, Andrea Wells, and Olivia Franklin) and winning their regional. The girls qualified for the state meet where they placed eighth as a team and had one All-State runner in Rachel Richtman, her second All-State recognition. The state runners included Andrea Wells, Grace Purcell, Tessa Brennan, Rachel Richtman, Olivia Franklin, Mackenzie Egert and Aubrey Broz.

After being moved up to class 4A, Kaneland volleyball, coached by Cynthia Violett, finished their season 28-8, placing second in conference and advancing to the semi-final of their first ever 4A regional. The team had two All-Conference players in Katie Jablonski and Sheika Mushunduzi, along with two All-Conference Honorable Mentions in Shelby Hannula and Julianna Vasallo. The Knights will lose seniors Meghan Andrews, Mallory Burgin and Sheika Mushunduzi next season.

In his first year as head coach, Patrick Ryan led the Knights football team to a 7-4 finish and a co-conference championship, advancing to the playoffs and winning their first game against Chicago Lindblom. The Knights had eight First Team All-Conference players (Matt Payton, Jack Douglas, Josh Marczuk, Alex Moses, Jonathan Alstott, Jacob Brown, Kyle Angelotti and Zach Denning), along with three All-Conference Honorable Mentions (Chaz Shaw, Drew Hahn and Trevor Jones). Senior receiver Josh Marczuk was named the NIBXII East Offensive POY and garnered IHSFCA Class 5A First Team All-State Honors. During the season, both Josh Marczuk and Jack Douglas received Player of the Week honors from the Daily Chronicle. The team awards went as followed: Team MVP-Alex Moses, Team Offensive MVP-Jack Douglas and Josh Marczuk, Team Defensive MVP-Drew Hahn, Most Improved-Jacob Brown and Trevor Jones and Coaches Award-Matt Payton.

Despite losing many talented seniors, all sports look forward to successful seasons in the 2018-2019 school year and hope to continue making school history.